Quiet Time

 

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. (Mark 1:35)

There are many times that Jesus retreats to a solitary place for prayer, this being one of those times. I’m not certain why he does this. Could it be important for us to practice this too? I think so.

I think this would be important for us because it allows unadulterated time to focus on God and His glory. Jesus probably did this, I think, in order to recooperate and fill his soul with God’s love.

I think that without this all important prayer, we can become wearied and risk losing our focus. I recently became acquainted with this idea of weariness. I was so utterly focused on defending the hope that is in me that I forgot to focus on God!

We may not need to pray early in the morning, but I am going to start doing that again. It will help with keeping our minds, hearts, and souls nourished and focused on God throughout the rest of the day.

Thoughts?

3 comments on “Quiet Time

  1. I don’t think one can even follow God without taking time apart to seek Him. I talk all day with the Lord, but to really LISTEN to Him one truly only can do it with Bible in hand and apart from the clutter of life.
    Blessings to you!

    • :) very good points. I agree completely with you. Listening to that still, small voice requires quiet away from the clutter of life. Thank you for your comment.

Comments are closed.