The Sowing

 

I have been attempting to find my calling pretty much throughout this blog. I felt for a while that it could be boiled down to “defending the hope that is in me”, but I think it is much more than that. Possibly one could read through this and tell me their thoughts on it.

But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have…(1Peter 3:15)

I went with this verse full force. By doing so, I have had people come to this blog and challenge me, rather than the hope that is in me. I defended the hope, still. Through it, I learned how to follow the rest of the above verse –

…But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. (3:15-16)

I do not know how well I followed that, but I have done my utmost to defend, not defensively, but lovingly, the hope that is in me. Let me tell you, it was arduous work. I worked to defend this hope so hard, that I lost sight of the hope itself! My sole focus had become the defense, rather than focusing on what matters – God and His light.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness…(Matthew 6:33)

I had started seeking, not God, but to prove my hope as reality. That isn’t my job though. I defend that hope in loving kindness, yes, but God’s job is to draw them.

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them, and I will raise them up at the last day. (John 6:44)

This is not to say that our witness or our missionary work is not what we are to do! Not at all! For, that is what we are all called to do. We should go into all nations to create and teach disciples.

However, I cannot control the people who hear the word of God, or His truths. I cannot control the soil where seeds are cast – and this does not mean I should not sow those seeds. Only that I shouldn’t be discouraged when those seeds are picked up directly, without the soil hearing it.

Listen! A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root. Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants, so that they did not bear grain. Still other seed fell on good soil. It came up, grew and produced a crop, some multiplying thirty, some sixty, some a hundred times.” Then Jesus said, “Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear.” (Mark 4:3-9)

This tells me that there are all kinds of soils, or people, out there. Yes, I may be speaking to the first kind, but what if those seeds fall into good soil?

I had thought that what I was saying was falling on deaf ears, and that is likely true – but again, what if it falls back onto the nearby good soil? The first soil is likely characterized by this verse –

The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. (2 Corinthians 4:4)

I will keep up the good fight, I will continue to defend my hope. Though, I feel that I should redirect my focus – not on the hardened hearts but on God Himself. By doing so, His will is going to reveal itself.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.(Matthew 6:33)

I will continue to post the various things that come to me, but I will not do so in order to bring occasion to defend my hope – only to bring occasion for the sharing of my hope. I will defend when questioned, but the focus will be the sharing :)

I fell across this verse through my study for this post, and thought it worthy of sharing.

Therefore, dear friends, since you have been forewarned, be on your guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of the lawless and fall from your secure position. But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen. (1 Peter 3:17-18)

12 comments on “The Sowing

  1. i had difficult times with this also. i was looking for that higher gift, a beautiful voice, a grand speaker, a published author, then one day god pointed out to me, that i was a compassionate person about life and people, and a loving caregiver. this is my gift. not all can see it, but god gave it to me, and i claim it………..loved your post

    • Yes, Terry. I understand completely what you went through. The gift that you have is actually the best gift, or the greatest :)
      Paul tells us that all the other gifts are pretty much useless if we don’t have love. He tells more about love too – In the end there are three things that last: faith, hope, and love. And the greatest of these is love. Can’t remember where that verse is, but I’d say that you’ve found the greater gift:)

    • How do I know the Bible is true? There are two ways to look at it. First, I have faith that the Bible is true. I have no reason to doubt the authors of the Bible, nor how the Bible was put together. As the blog above references, the hope that is in me allows me to believe the words of the Bible. Furthermore, even without the Bible to stand on – I would still have faith in the faithfulness of God. He is my rock, upon which I stand. Knowing you, Larry, this is not an adequate answer.

      So, let’s look at what you mean by truth. The Bible has many books in it. Most of the Old Testament is composed of various works by different people – such as those ascribed to Solomon. Psalms are praise – can’t really determine the truth of that. Genesis is a written oral history, I don’t know if these are true but I place my faith in them because I believe them to be true. Other books are prophetic in nature, and the majority of these prophecies have come to pass, others may have passed but may still be waited on for their fulfillment. The New Testament is largely composed of letters from Paul to various new churches. These letters contain instructions to the churches and to us – how can an instruction be true or false? The gospels are historic accounts of the life and ministry of Jesus. These histories are backed up, in large part, by secular (non religious) writings. Even if some aspects of it are not, they are not contradicted by secular accounts. So, the authors can be trusted. Now, because of my faith, I stop there – the Bible is the trustworthy word of God.

      You can continue to search for your evidence for or against the Bible. However, based on past dealings with you, I can rest assured that you are going to twist things and use semantics to found your belief system concerning the Bible and God. I hope that you can look at the Bible without your preconceived notions based on people who attack, and aim to destroy, the faith of believers. Thank you for your comments, Larry. Your spirit has proven to be against God, and I am sorry to hear that.

  2. I didn’t twist anything or use semantics. You were incorrectly using terms such as “theory”, and I pointed out how they were incorrect. I don’t have a belief system to “found” and you do. As it is, having faith is not a reason to believe in something, as I’m sure you’ll agree about everything else apart from this one thing you’re being irrational about.

    • Well, faith is the essence of things hoped for and the conviction of their reality. Faith is believing, regardless of what others say against it. So, I won’t agree with you. Faith is reason to believe. It provides the assurance if a thing’s reality.

      Also, you believe there is no God. You believe the Bible is false. You believe I am irrational. Therefore, you have a belief system. You reference Dawkins many times, and I believe he has an agenda to destroy the faith of believers (based solely on dealing with you, so I may be incorrect but that is the impression I got from you).

      I don’t want another argument to ensue from this, so let us refrain from calling the other names or irrational or anything like that. That indicates an attacking mentality, and I would rather this remain respectful.

  3. Pingback: No Distractions, Please « bummyla

  4. Pingback: Increase and Promotion « bummyla

  5. Okay, that’s absolutely fine. I’m just saying that faith in things science has disproven (like young Earth creationism) is actually damaging to society if we are ever going to learn the truth about our cosmos. That’s been the whole point of me ever commenting on this blog, and you seem to flag me up as some kind of ‘threat’ for some reason.

    • I disagree with that, unfortunately. Science hasn’t disproven God. So, faith in Him (which you are adamantly against) isn’t detrimental. Maybe the young earth creation isn’t true, but faith in that doesn’t damage society. I can’t see how it would. And I haven’t ignored your comment about the gospels, I am just gathering my thoughts on that before approving it.

Comments are closed.